The Hem of His Garment


I began a Bible Study tonight online at http://www.healinghearts.org/. A friend told me about the site and I was thankful to see that there was no fee to do it and have a counselor monitor my progress.

The Bible Study we are doing is called The Hem of His Garment. I love the Bible account of this. A woman had been very sick with hemorrhages for 12 years and heard that Jesus was in town. She had been to so many doctors and spent all that she had, but instead of getting better she only grew worse. She approached the crowd that surrounded Jesus and slowly made her way to the front. She said that if she could only touch the hem of His garment, she would be healed. As soon as she touched the hem of His cloak, the bleeding stopped and she knew she had been healed. Jesus felt the healing and turned to find who had touched his garment. The woman was trembling when she told Him what she had done and He told her that her faith had made her whole, to go in peace and be freed from her suffering. I think it is a beautiful account of faith. You can read the account in Mark 5:21-34.

We were hesitant to do this study as we do have spiritual abuse among other things in our past and worried about triggers. So far, it has been a positive experience for us.

God’s Word says that we have not because we ask not. John 16:23-24 says, “Truly, truly, I say to you, if you shall ask the Father for anything, He will give it to you in My name.”

Tonight, we prayed:

Precious Lord, I have not asked You for some time now to reveal the truths of my past to me so that I will be healed. I ask You to show me what it is that I need to know. You know that my mother was angry and violent and also verbally abusive to me. You know that my father was absent in that he wasn’t home and when he was, he was asleep and not fully aware of the abuses I endured. You know all of the horrible things that the uncle and aunt did to me as a child growing up. You were always there. You gave me the gift of dissociation so that I could escape the severe traumas until I was safe to recover and heal. I ask You to help me and show me what is truth. Often times I run from the past and the truth because it is too difficult to bear. I ask You for strength so that I may experience what I need to in order to truly heal.

Leave a Reply

