The BASK Model of Dissociation


Memories can come in layers as I am coming to learn all too well. I used to think that as the alters felt I was ready, they would share the memories in chunks or events as many as was needed for me to fully recover. Now, I’m seeing it’s not nearly that simple. I always knew that we were fragmented to the degree that the emotions were separated into different alters. What I didn’t realize fully was that emotions from each event can be stored in certain alters. As well as body sensations that come forward in the form of body memories that we get all too often and don’t know what they are connected to. In my most recent session with T, we were reminded of the BASK model of dissociation. BASK stands for Behavior, Affect, Sensation, and Knowledge. So, memories can be dissociated into those categories:

  • Behavior: the actions that occurred/what happened
  • Affect: The emotions associated with the event
  • Sensation: the sensations that the body feels/body memories
  • Knowledge: the meaning

I have some memories that are of the Behavior/Actions. I can rattle them off to my T one by one as if it were me talking about someone else. I guess, in many ways it is someone else. Then, I have been having sensation/body memories for years. Those suck because you FEEL the things that the body felt during a particular memory, but you have no freaking idea what happened. I have had the Affect part of it, too, as in my emotions have always been like a roller coaster ride. I would cry at the drop of a hat, or get angry – much more angry than whatever the current event called for, and fear – so much fear about everything. All the feelings are coming from parts of my system that were created to hold them. And lately, terror has begun to surface on a more real level for me. I will blog about another recent dream I had tomorrow. Until then, stay tuned. . . .

3 responses to “The BASK Model of Dissociation

  1. This makes so much sense. It scares me too, because it does make so much sense. Does that make sense? Pardon the pun. Thanks for talking about the BASK model. I’d seen it somewhere before and couldn’t make sense of it at the moment but now I can. Thanks!

  2. Thanks for the comment. This is the way that we make sense of it, anyway. Yeah our first (good) T way back when told us about the BASK model, but we had forgotten what the letters stood for. We do understand it lots more now than we did years ago, too.

  3. Cetcetera thanks for explaining the BASK model. Never seen this before. Glad you all are able to understand the meaning more. Appreciate you all sharing, thank you.

Leave a Reply

